Features of Cambridge A Level

The subject content of the A Level syllabus is divided into two parts. The first part is taught in the first year of the course and forms the basis of the AS Level qualification. Completion of the second part in the following year fulfills the requirements for A Level.

Cambridge AS and A Levels examinations use a variety of assessment techniques, but particular emphasis is placed on the use of externally-marked examination papers. Taking examinations successfully demands a high level of academic competence and the ability to organize knowledge and ideas to produce better written answers. Other features of the A Level course are:

  • Compulsory practical work in the science subjects
  • More case studies and activities in non-science subjects
  • Opportunities for individual research in several subjects
AS and A Levels are based on a practical curriculum that seeks to enable students to cope successfully with the demands of higher education. Courses are designed to encourage students to develop an independent approach to their work. The curriculum also encourages:
  • The development of practical thinking skills based on oral communication and knowledge acquisition
  • An active approach learning
  • The use of initiative and creativity in problem-solving
  • The application of skills and understanding
  • The ability to undertake individual research and to work as part of a team
  • Working and communicating in English
Students have been achieving remarkable sets of result in the past years. Students have also achieved world class results in so many subjects. Majority of the passed-out students are currently studying in colleges/universities worldwide.